Bringing stitching back.

A quick browse for textile crafts on pintrest and it’s clear that embroidery is back in.  I particularly love the trend of using an embroidery hoop to display work, just like a little sampler.  There are some beautiful designs out there and I love the way it combines the traditional with something of the modern hipster.

DSC_0003

I designed this little sampler for my grandparents’ Diamond wedding anniversary combining olive and pink shades.  It’s a great way of making a gift that is personal and I’m really pleased with how it turned out.

DSC_0008

After messing about with fonts and designs on a piece of paper until I was happy, I sketched the final design onto my calico with pencil before embroidering over it.  I added some felt to create little flowers and a few beads to add a bit of sparkle.

DSC_0012

To make your own, just get hold of some hoops from ebay, some thin wadding, calico, felt if required, and embroidery threads.

DSC_0010

I enjoy the simplicity of the embroidery.  It doesn’t take too long to make and requires only a few basic materials.  And there are loads of things you can do with them.  I plan to make a few more using various materials, techniques and designs so watch this space.

 

4 thoughts on “Bringing stitching back.

Leave a Reply

