The Caravan Chronicles – Chapter 2

Well, the last couple of weeks have been eventful to say the least.  I have graduated from college and started a new job and any spare moments I’ve had have been spent working on the caravan.

The very fist thing Jon did was to rip out the built in sofa, it was been bugging him I think.  Ugly dated fabric aside, I sort of liked it, it added to the caravan feel, but, hey ho, our leather sofa has to go somewhere!  I’m still a little intrigued as to how we are going to get it in through door which is skinny enough to get you thinking about camels and needles… The gas fire, corner unit and bedroom headboards have followed suit and have found their way to the bonfire.

Once the ripping out had taken place we were left with what was pretty much a shell to work with.  And a lot has happened since!

  • Redesigning. Our three-bed caravan, is now a two bed, following the rather messily executed removal or a separating wall.  We have, however, salvaged the situation, having discovered the merits of polyfilla and decorator’s Caulk.  It’s a lovely cozy space and will make a lovely bedroom, (provided it can fit in our bed…).
  • Painting, lots of Painting!  Walls were prepped with sugar soap to removed grease/nicotine stains (!) and then painted using vinyl and bathroom paint for the most part to try and keep our caravan cleanable and mildew free. The living room is an off-white to give the illusion of space, and yummy mocha feature walls.  Somehow painting a feature wall felt like a rite of passage, suggesting in a strange way that I’m now officially an adult!  The kitchen is is a sort of light-frog green, that’s my best description and, seeing as I enjoyed my feature wall experience so much, the main bedroom has a very pretty turquoise blue feature wall.
  • Laminate flooring is in, courtesy of Jon’s Dad Mike, and looking fantastic it is too.  It runs from the lounge, through the kitchen area and down as far as the bedroom.  Hopefully this will render us muddy boot proof!
  • We have also managed the hair-raising task of maneuvering our home into place.  I say we, I think at most I contributed a couple of pushes and some cups of tea and tried not to watch…  Now for plumbing etc. Some kind gents at the project banded together to dig out a hole for our septic tank, I am leaving these details largely to Jon…

Now that college is over, this week it’s full steam ahead!  There’s still plenty of work to be done and we have to get in by the 18th, just a few days away!  More news to come, but for now, enjoy a few makeover shots, while I do my best to scrub the paint off my hands before work tomorrow…

IMG_3137 IMG_3164 IMG_3165 IMG_3167

IMG_3144 IMG_3145 IMG_3146

 

4 thoughts on “The Caravan Chronicles – Chapter 2

  1. Looks like it will be a lovely home and loving the feature walls idea! I’ve always liked caravans and canal boats so cosy spaces appeal 🙂

Leave a Reply

