Skirt #2! The High Waisted One

Did I just throw this pretty garment together in an evening?  Why yes, yes I did.  Ok, an evening and a little bit of the following day too.  But still, not bad going even if I say so myself.

Photo on 2014-02-28 at 09.29 Photo on 2014-02-28 at 09.29 #2 Photo on 2014-02-28 at 09.30

The skirt is so easy because it’s just made from 4 rectangles – no need for a pattern and you just sew in straight lines.

I would post a tutorial, but the one which I followed was very good and I highly recommend it.

SKIRT TUTORIAL

My only addition was a lining on the inside.  The material I used was a little thin, and the lining stops it being see-through in the light and gives it a lovely swish.

In order to make the lining, I used some spare thin cotton, and just followed the same instructions for the belt and skirt.  I made sure the skirt was a little shorter and left a gap in the side where the zip would have been but sewing up the seam.  Then I inserted this second skirt inside the other, pinned it in and sewed it in place with a 1cm seam from the top of the skirt.  The gap I left in the lining skirt allows the zip to open easily.  Best to look at the photos so you get an idea.

IMG_2741 IMG_2743 IMG_2744

Another way to do this might be to add your lining when you first attach the belt to the skirt.  I’m a big fan of experimenting – in my experience it’s been the best way to learn!

 

4 thoughts on “Skirt #2! The High Waisted One

Leave a Reply

